Kouga local municipality
Tel:+27 (0)42 200 2200
Fax:+27 (0)42 200 8606
All-hours Emergency:+27 (0)42 291 0250
Alternative Number:+27 (0)42 200 8330

The Kouga Council approved the final budget for 2016/2017 at a Council meeting on 31 May. The new budget and tariff increases can be viewed here on the municipal website.

The 2012/2017 Integrated Development Plan (IPD) has been revised for the 2016/2017 financial year and approved at a Kouga Council meeting on 31 May 2016. The document is available on the municipal website.

Incredible progress was made towards expanding and improving service delivery to all communities over the past Council term. Read more about this here in Kouga Highlights 2011 - 2016.

Welcome to Kouga Local Municipality

The Kouga Local Municipality is located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, west of Nelson Mandela Bay, and forms part of the Sarah Baartman District Municipality. It consists of nine towns, namely, Jeffreys Bay, Humansdorp, St Francis Bay, Cape St Francis, Oyster Bay, Patensie, Hankey, Loerie and Thornhill, as well as various smaller settlements and agricultural nodes.

While Kouga has traditionally been characterised by economic activities largely focused on tourism and agriculture, the area has been positioning itself as one of tne energy hubs of South Africa. Two wind farms are already in operation at Jeffreys Bay and Oyster Bay, and more are in the pipeline.

Kouga is also home to Thyspunt, one of the preferred sites for  a new nuclear power station to serve South Africa's growing energy requirements. 




News RoomAll News
Chinese learners visit Kouga schools

Kouga was the destination of choice when a group of Chinese learners visited South Africa recently.

Women urged to inspire change

Women should never settle for second best in the grisly world of business but strive to be catalysts for change and growth, was the message at the 2016 Kouga Women in Business and Tourism Networking Session.

There are no events at this time.

Photo GalleriesAll Galleries