NULL Kouga local municipality
Tel:+27 (0)42 200 2200
All-hours Emergency:+27 (0)42 291 0250
Alternative Number:+27 (0)42 200 8330
Last modified: 20 Jun 2019
Back To Index

Changes to Housing Committee schedule

18 June 2019

There have been some changes to the schedule for the establishment of Housing Coordinating Committees across the Kouga region.

Kouga Planning and Development Portfolio Councillor Ben Rheeder said the meeting for Ward 9 was scheduled to take place on Tuesday this week while successful sessions have also been held at Ward 1 (Sea Vista), Ward 2, Ward 4, Ward 6 and Ward 10.

The remaining schedule is as follows:

  • Ward 14: 27 June at the Tokyo Sexwale Stadium
  • Ward 7 (Loerie): 1 July at the Loerie Community Hall
  • Ward 7 (Thornhill): 2 July at the Katrina Felix Community Hall
  • Ward 12 & 15: 9 July at a tent at the Humansdorp Country Club
  • Ward 13 (Centerton, Stofwolk & surrounds): 10 July at the Vusumzi Landu Hall
  • Ward 13 (Weston): 11 July at the Weston Community Hall
  • Ward 1 (Oyster Bay): 16 July at Kokkewiet/Project House

A new date will also be set for Ward 5.

Rheeder said the framework for the committees was recently approved by the Kouga Council as part of ongoing efforts to maximise community involvement and minimise corruption in government housing projects.

“The committees will be established in all wards where there is a need for government-subsidised housing and will be a critical link between communities, Council, the municipality’s Human Settlements section and the provincial and national Departments of Human Settlements,” he said.

“The aim is to build good relationships with communities and to establish a credible system of housing delivery aligned to the National Housing Act and Human Settlements Code.”  

In terms of the framework the committees will be chaired by the municipality’s Human Settlements manager and will meet at least quarterly to ensure communities are consulted and updated regularly on housing projects which are under way or planned for their areas.

The members will include three community representatives, the Mayoral Committee member responsible for Human Settlements, the ward councillor, a PR councillor and two representatives from the Department of Human Settlements.

Rheeder encouraged all prospective housing beneficiaries to attend the meetings, at which the community representatives will be elected.

All meetings will start at 18:00.

Mayor Horatio Hendricks said a capacity building workshop for the newly-elected committee members will be presented by the national Department of Human Settlements.