NULL Kouga local municipality
Tel:+27 (0)42 200 2200
All-hours Emergency:+27 (0)42 291 0250
Alternative Number:+27 (0)42 200 8330
Last modified: 21 May 2018
Back To Index

Countdown to Town of the Year finals

16 May 2018

The countdown has begun to the final voting round of Kwêla’s Town of the Year competition.


South Africans will have from 27 May to 1 June to vote by sms for their favourite town. There are nine regional finalists in total, with Jeffreys Bay representing the Eastern Cape.


Joe Ferreira, chairman of the Kouga Business Forum, said winning would be a great boost for Jeffreys Bay and the whole Kouga region.


“The national winner will receive free marketing worth R1-million through Kyknet. The Kwêla team will also host a big festival in the winning town in September.”


The annual competition is open to South African and Namibian towns with a population of fewer than 500 000 people.


“We are very excited that Jeffreys Bay was selected to represent the Eastern Cape,” said Kouga Executive Mayor Horatio Hendricks. “It is an opportunity to show South Africa what a fantastic place Kouga is to live and work in.”


The voting lines will be open from 27 May at 6pm to noon on 1 June.


“Voting is easy,” said Ferreira. “Simply SMS the Afrikaans town name, Jeffreysbaai, to 33157. Please note that it has to be the full Afrikaans name to be counted.”


SMSs cost R1,50 each. A maximum of 30 sms’s may be sent from a cellphone number.