NULL Kouga local municipality
Tel:+27 (0)42 200 2200
All-hours Emergency:+27 (0)42 291 0250
Alternative Number:+27 (0)42 200 8330
Last modified: 10 May 2018
Back To Index

J’Bay households to register for free basic services

08 May 2018

Jeffreys Bay residents will be able to register for free basic services from Kouga Municipality from 14 May to 7 June.


Free basic services (Equitable Shares) are available to households with a combined monthly income of about R3 400 (twice the state pension).


Those who are registered, receive 50kwh electricity plus the basic charge for free, 12kl water plus the basic charge for free, free refuse removal and free sewerage (based on 12kl water consumption). They also do not pay the Environmental Management Fee (EMF) levy and rates for an additional R85 000 on their properties.


Finance Portfolio Councillor Brenton Williams said the Jeffreys Bay registration would start at the Newton Hall from 14 to 17 May for residents from Kabeljous, Wavecrest, C-Place and J’Bay Central (wards 3, 8 and 11).


From 21 May to 24 May residents from Paradise Beach (ward 12) and Aston Bay (ward 14) will have the opportunity to register at the Aston Bay Community Hall.


The drive then moves to the Pellsrus Hall from 28 May to 31 May for residents from Pellsrus and Tokyo Sexwale (ward 2) and concludes the following week, from 4 June to 7 June, at the same venue for households from Ocean View and Mandela Bay (ward 14).


Williams said all applicants are required to complete the application form personally.


"Those who are already registered also need to re-register during this time to continue receiving these benefits," he said.


The following documents must also be supplied: municipal account and prepaid meter number, ID document (husband and wife), proof of income (bank statement, pay slip or pension card), sworn affidavit if unemployed, proof of usufruct (if owner is deceased, a letter of authority and death certificate).