Kouga local municipality
Tel:+27 (0)42 200 2200
All-hours Emergency:+27 (0)42 291 0250
Alternative Number:+27 (0)42 200 8330
Last modified: 24 May 2019
Back To Index

New housing committees to be elected

23 May 2019

In another major boost for transparency, Kouga Municipality will be establishing Housing Coordinating Committees across the region over the next five weeks.

Executive Mayor Horatio Hendricks said the framework for the committees was recently approved by the Kouga Council as part of ongoing efforts to maximise community involvement and minimise corruption in government housing projects.

“The committees will be established in all wards where there is a need for government-subsidised housing and will be a critical link between communities, Council, the municipality’s Human Settlements section and the provincial and national Departments of Human Settlements,” he said.

“The aim is to build good relationships with communities and to establish a credible system of housing delivery aligned to the National Housing Act and Human Settlements Code.”  

In terms of the framework the committees will be chaired by the municipality’s Human Settlements manager and will meet at least quarterly to ensure communities are consulted and updated regularly on housing projects which are under way or planned for their areas.

The members will include three community representatives, the Mayoral Committee member responsible for Human Settlements, the ward councillor, a PR councillor and two representatives from the Department of Human Settlements.

Hendricks encouraged all prospective housing beneficiaries to attend the meetings, at which the community representatives will be elected.

The first meeting will be held in Ward 2 at the Pellsrus Hall this evening, 23 May.

Three meetings will be held next week. Ward 14 will meet on 27 May at the Tokyo Sexwale Sport Stadium, Wards 12 and 15 will meet on 28 May in a marquee at the Humansdorp Country Club and Ward 1 will meet on 29 May at the Sea Vista hall. 

Only one meeting will take place the following week, with Ward 6 scheduled to meet on 5 June in a marquee at the KwaNomzamo Community Hall.

The next week will see Ward 4 meeting on 11 June at the Kruisfontein Civic Centre, followed by a session for Ward 5 on 12 June, also at the Kruisfontein Civic Centre.

On 13 June the community of Ward 10 will meet at the Dan Sandi Hall while the meeting for Ward 9 will take place on 18 June at the Vusumzi Landu Hall.

Two meetings have been scheduled for Ward 13. The first meeting will take place on 19 June at the Vusumzi Landu Hall, followed by a meeting at the Weston Community Hall on 20 June.

The programme will conclude with two meetings for Ward 7. The first session will take place on 26 June at the Loerie Hall while the second session will take place on 27 June at the Katrina Felix Hall in Thornhill.

All meetings will start at 18:00.

The Mayor said a capacity building workshop for the newly-elected committee members will be presented in July by the national Department of Human Settlements.