Kouga local municipality
Tel:+27 (0)42 200 2200
All-hours Emergency:+27 (0)42 291 0250
Alternative Number:+27 (0)42 200 8330

Welcome to Kouga Local Municipality

The Kouga Local Municipality is located in the Eastern Cape of South Africa, west of Nelson Mandela Bay, and forms part of the Sarah Baartman District Municipality. It consists of nine towns, namely, Jeffreys Bay, Humansdorp, St Francis Bay, Cape St Francis, Oyster Bay, Patensie, Hankey, Loerie and Thornhill, as well as various smaller settlements and agricultural nodes.

While Kouga has traditionally been characterised by economic activities largely focused on tourism and agriculture, the area has been positioning itself as one of tne energy hubs of South Africa. Two wind farms are already in operation at Jeffreys Bay and Oyster Bay, and more are in the pipeline.




News RoomAll News
Kouga Integrated Development Plan receives nod of approval

Kouga Integrated Development Plan receives nod of approval KOUGA – Kouga Municipality’s reviewed Integrated Development Plan (IDP) for the 2024/2025 financial year was approved by Council during an Ordinary Council meeting on Friday, 31 May 2024. Developed through consultations with communities and various levels of government, the IDP is a five-year plan (2002-2027) that addresses the needs of all 15 municipal wards.

Council declares amnesty period for building plan fines

The Kouga Council has declared a six-month amnesty period for the payment of fines and penalties related to incomplete or incorrected building plans under the National Building Regulations Act, Act 103 of 1977. This amnesty also applies to situations where inspection for occupation certificates was not requested. The amnesty period will run from 1 July 2024 to 31 December 2024, and will apply only to building work that existed or started before this period.

Photo GalleriesAll Galleries